History of the Paris Commune

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Table of Contents

The Republic is Proclaimed

Paris, September 4, 1870
The Minister of the Interior to the prefects:

The legislative body has been declared dissolved.

The Republic has been proclaimed at the Hotel de Ville.

A Government of National Defense composed of eleven members, all deputies from Paris, has been constituted and ratified by popular acclaim.

The names are: Arago, Crémieux, Jules Favre, Ferry, Gambetta, Garnier-Pagè, Glais-Bizoin, Pelletan, Picard, Rochefort, Jules Simon.

General Trochu is both maintained is both maintained in his powers as Governor of Paris and named Minister of War, replacing General Palikao.

For the Government of National Defense:
The Minister of the Interior,
Léon Gambetta

Sign up for our Newsletter

Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit